Why Habits Are the Key to Workplace Sanity

Anyone who knows me knows that I’m borderline neurotic. I’m fueled by stress, coffee, and Chex Mix. So for me, scheduling stops me from going completely cuckoo cuckoo for Cocoa Puffs.

With this, we shall build an empire!

With this, we shall build an empire!

You see, decision making is one of the most stressful activities out there. It’s why being thrifty at the supermarket can drive even the most patient parent to fantasize about punting little Timmy into the produce section.  Habits, scheduled activities, help us avoid the stress caused by decision making. When should I handle my company’s social media? 12PM to 1PM. When should I write my weekly post for the company blog? Friday at 4PM. If there is anything at work that you do repeatedly, schedule it out and stick to that schedule. You’ll find yourself breathing easier.

2 thoughts on “Why Habits Are the Key to Workplace Sanity

  1. yeah man, cool post… You can actually apply the tips in blogging. The stress of just thinking what to write makes everything complicated specially if you have a full time jobe :)

  2. It is said often that you should ‘stick to the system’. I think there were some references in Good to Great by Jim Collins, that the business leaders continued to follow the plan even when things got out of whack. This does not mean that you ignore the problems, but that your belief in the system, or habit as you say, is more beneficial than taking time and resources away from it.

Leave a Reply

